Workspace Actions

Once you have retrieved security settings, the workspace will show the results. Now you can analyze, compare and contrast the security settings!


Want to compare security settings between environments?  Connect to a different environment and retrieve more settings.  When retrieving data, if the workspace already has data, you will be prompted to "clear the workspace".  Select "No" to keep the existing data and add the new data from another environment to the workspace.

Color Coding

Cells will be automatically colored as follows:

  • Green (or Blue): Most permissive setting.
    • Green is the default, but Blue may be used instead by selecting "Red Yellow Blue" within Options->Color Scheme.
  • Yellow: Middle permissive setting where applicable.
  • Red: Permission denied.
  • White (Blank): Permission not granted, but no change in security will be deployed to a target environment.

Valid Settings

Hover over the Type or Name cell to see tooltips with the valid choices for that type of entity.  Note that for some entities, the available options vary between Profiles and Permission Sets.


Class:

  • T=True
  • F=False
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Page:

  • T=True
  • F=False
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Field:

  • E=Edit
  • R=Read
  • H=Hidden
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Record Type:

  • D=Default (Profile Only)
  • V=Visible
  • H=Hidden
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Tab (Profiles):

  • On=Default On
  • Off=Default Off
  • H=Hidden

Tab (Permission Sets):

  • V=Visible
  • A=Available
  • N=None
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Object:  Object permissions are different in that security settings are specified using multiple letters.  The permissions granted for Objects are based on the combination of letters specified.  The highest level of access for Objects would be specified as: CREDVM

  • C=Create
  • R=Read
  • E=Edit
  • D=Delete
  • V=View All
  • M=Modify All
  • N=No access (May be used to deploy no access)
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

System Permission:

  • T=True
  • F=False
  • Blank=No access, do not change permission upon deploy

Custom Options (Profiles): DO NOT MODIFY

  • T=True
  • F=False
  • Blank for Permission Sets

User License (Profiles): DO NOT MODIFY

  • Salesforce License
  • Blank for Permission Sets

Entering data

Select an individual cell to edit values one at a time.

Select multiple cells and enter a single letter value to apply that value to all of the selected cells.

Select multiple cells and select Ctrl+C to copy multiple values.

Select a single cell and select Ctrl+V to paste the copied cell(s).  If multiple cells were copied, the copied cells will be pasted using the single cell as the top left corner of the copied cells.

Sort Rows

Provides options for sorting the rows containing entities.  Options include:

  • Standard: This is the default order entities are displayed.  This groups entities together by the types of entity.
  • Object: This will group fields, record types and object entities that are part of an object together.
  • Type->Name: This sorts entities first by Type and then by Name in either ascending or descending order.
  • Name->Type: This sorts entities first by Name and then by Type in either ascenting or descending order.

Sort Columns

Provides options for sorting the columns containing Profiles and Permission Sets.    There are three parameters used to sort security files:

  • Conn: The nickname of the connection the security files was retrieved from.
  • Type: The type of security file: Profile or Permission Set.
  • Name: The name of the security file.

Columns can be sorted by any combination of the above in either ascending or descending order.

Show Rows

Determines which rows to show.  Options Include:

  • All: Display all retrieved rows.
  • Different: Only display rows that contain one or more differences in settings between retrieved security files.
  • Same: Only display rows that are identical in settings for all retrieved security files.

Show Columns

Determines which columns to show.  Options Include:

  • All: Displays all retrieved security files.
  • Profiles: Displays only profiles.
  • Permission Sets: Displays only permission sets.
  • With Zero Users: Displays profiles and permissions sets with zero users.  Note that the Option "Active Users Only" affects the count of Users for profiles and permission sets.
  • With Non Zero Users: Displays profiles and permissions sets with one or more users.  Note that the Option "Active Users Only" affects the count of Users for profiles and permission sets.
  • By User*: Displays a Profile and Permission Sets based on a selected user.  Note that the list of users and the Profile and Permission Sets associated to a user is based on the CURRENT connection.

*  "Show Columns->By User" feature is only available for Security Zen Masters.

Freeze Columns

Freezes or Unfreezes the Type and Name columns.  Freezing these columns applies when there are many security files.  When scrolling to the right, the Type and Name columns would normally scroll off to the left.  Freezing the columns prevents them from scrolling off to the left.

Fill Blanks with False

For some entities such as System Permissions and Object permissions, when security is not granted, no security settings are retrieved which results in a blank cell.  However, deploying an empty cell does not alter or remove security in the target environment.


The "Fill Blanks with False" option provides a convenient way to populate blank cells with False values.  Deploying False values removes security settings in the target environment.

Reset Values

This resets cells to the values that were last retrieved or imported.

Clear Workspace

This clears out the workspace of all data.

Import

This imports a CSV file into the workspace.  The CSV file must be formatted appropriately with Types, Names, Security Files Names and Cell Values.  Try Exporting a CSV file to see the appropriate formatting.

Export

This exports a CSV file from the workspace.

Workspace Context Menu

Select multiple cells and right click on the selected area to access the Workspace Context Menu

Hide Row(s)

Hides the selected rows.

Hide Column(s)

Hides the selected columns.

Delete Row(s)

Deletes the selected rows.

Delete Column(s)

Deletes the selected columns.

Freeze Column(s)

Freezes the selected columns and all columns to the left of the selected columns.



List Users*

This option is only available when right clicking on a column header.  Provides list of users with selected profile or permission set.


 *  "List Users" feature is only available for Security Zen Masters. 

NEXT: OPTIONS